60th Anniversary Expo, 20th/21st June 2020

20/21 June 2020 at Derby Conference Centre.

Full details to be announced in due course.

Accomodation can be booked at the conference centre for the weekend, see Newsletter for details.


AGM 2020, 19th September

19th September at the MRC clubrooms, Keen House, Calshot Street, London N1 9DA. Near to Kings Cross & St Pancras stations.

Will include the annual competition classes, entry forms can be found here (it would be helpful if this could be completed in advance).


Past Events:

AGM, Saturday 7th September 2019

Held at: STEAM Museum, Fire Fly Avenue (off Kemble Drive), Swindon, SN2 2EY

Saturday 7th September 2019. Formal AGM meeting at 2pm.

AGM Competition results:

Other trophies awarded:

AGM 2018 Burnmoor, Co. Durham, Saturday 6th October 2018.

The AGM for 2018 was held on Saturday 6th October 2018 at St. Barnabas Church Hall, Rose Crescent, Bournmoor, Co. Durham, DH4 6EU.

Competition classes are:

The following are not competition classes, but are decided at the AGM.


AGM 2017

The 2017 AGM was held at the same venue as the Farnham and District Model Railway Show, on October 14th.

The Annual Model Making Competition

Competition classes are listed below. All competition entries should be on display by 12 midday. In addition to the competition classes, a display table for models is provided; please bring items along for display. All entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form (it would be helpful if this could be completed in advance - a copy can be found here). This will assist the Stewards in logging the entries and assist the Judge and Members by describing the entry in detail and the methods of construction used.

Note - the Dreadnought Trophy will not be awarded in 2017.

Competition classes are:

The following are not competition classes, but are decided at the AGM.


AGM 2016

The AGM 2016 was be held on Saturday 15th October 2016 at Keen House, 4 Calshot Street, Kings Cross, London N1 9DA.

The results of the 2016 Competitions and Awards were as follows (photographs of entries can be found in the galleries);

Groves Trophy - Nigel Ashton for GWR 'Duke' locomotive 3287 'Mercury'
The Neil Ballantine Quaich - Alan Whitehouse for Class 123 Diesel Multiple Unit
The Dreadnought Trophy - David Eveleigh for North London Railway carriages
The John Barker Trophy - Andy Carlson for 'Putting a Tiger in Your Tank' - 3 tank wagons
The Malcolm Stone Award - Andrew Gibson for Underbridge TJC3-155 at Swinton
The Willis Cup - Laurie Adams for Point Rodding system
The Members Choice Cup - Ian Smith for GWR 'Metro' tank locomotive
The Chairman’s Trophy - Tom Knapp for Paget London Christian Mission Building
The Mike Bryant Cup - Steve Cooper for Shop 2 Shopkeeper
The Geoff Balfour Memorial Award - Ian Smith for MRJ article on Baulk Road Trackwork (MRJ 244)
The Geoff Jones Layout Trophy - Tony Simms for Brafferton


AGM 2015

Held at the St.Barnabas Church Hall, Bournmoor, Houghton-le-Spring, Co Durham, on Saturday 3rd October 2015.

Annual Model Making Competition 2015

The results of the 2015 Competition were as follows. Photographs of entries are found in the galleries: