AGM 2021 and Model Competitions

The AGM for 2021 will be held online, using Zoom, on Saturday 16th October at 11am. Details of how to register to attend the AGM will be sent to members nearer the date.

The model competition will be run online, using a similar format to 2020, see section below.

The minutes of the 2020 AGM have been published in the "members only" part of the website.


The Model Competition 2021

There are six categories for entries. The results were:

Steam Locomotives: Winner - Simon Grand, LNER Q6 0-8-0 63387 ; Highly Commended - Alisdair Campbell, Highland Railway 4-4-0T No. 54 “Yankee Tank”
Diesel Locomotives: Bryn Davies, Class 25
Coaching Stock: John Aldrick, LMS D1718 1st Dining Car
Wagons: Peter Fuller, Wagon mounted 10 ton hand crane
Buildings: Peter Brown, Alston Station
Other: Chris Bentley, Crossing Nose chair etch

The competition entries can be viewed here:

In addition to the member votes, the following awards were made by members of the Committee.

The Chairman's Trophy. Awarded by the Chairman for their choice of best entry in the model competition, awarded to Peter Brown for Alston Station.

The Mike Bryant Cup. For services to the Association. Edward Sissling and the Bradford Magazine Packing Gang

The Geoff Balfour Award. For articles/writing relevant to 2mm model making. Nick Mitchell for articles in Model Railway Journal on stay-alive modules.

The Geoff Jones Layout Trophy. For the best layout exhibitied during the previous year. Not awarded due to lack of exhibitions in the Covid shutdowns during the year in question.