1999 Association AGM

The 2mm Scale Association annual modelling competitions are held at the Annual General Meeting each year. The photographs below show some of the 1999 entries.

Photographs by Ian Morgan except as noted. Colour enlargements visible by clicking on any B&W picture.

BR 21t Mineral Hoppers from Fencehouses kits, built by MickSimpson G5 0-4-4 tank scratch built by Mick Simpson, winner of the Groves Trophy and the Members Choice Cup
NER footbridge built by Bob Jones from a kit produced by his Fencehouses company. A Caledonian Railway scotch derrick built of wood, brass, plastic and wire, with etched gears courtesy of Fencehouses. Built by Jim Watt.
Part of a rake of BR (ex LMS) coaches from Ultima and Bill Bedford components, built by Nigel Hunt. Winner of the Dreadnought Trophy.
As previous picture As previous
As previous picture Gresley brake coach by Mick Simpson, a converted Minitrix item.
BR iron ore tipplers (John Grey) Barker winner 2 Mike Raithby NER hoppers by Peter Wright
Three four wheeled coaches, built by Jim Watt, are CR Drummond 28'6" stock, respectively diagram 15 brake third, diagram 13 first and diagram 14 third. The latter is in the all brown livery as none of these vehicles received the white upper panels. The three are built from etches produced from reduced artwork from John Boyle, originally designed for 7mm scale, with castings from Jim's own masters and Association plain buffers. They have full brake gear, including Westinghouse cylinder (Jim said: it was all on the etch and it seemed a shame to waste it !).
Bognor Box scratchbuilt by Ian Morgan Midland 1F etched body scratchbuilt chassis by Nigel Hunt Winner of the Chairman's Trophy.