2017 AGM Award Winners

Below we list the various trophy winners at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

Groves Trophy

Winner, 08 diesel shunter, built by Jerry Clifford from the 2mm Association kit

Other entries included:

Scratchbuilt GWR 43xx mogul by Nigel Ashton:

Midland 1F with etched body and scratchbuilt chassis by Jerry Clifford:

Ballantine Quaich

A pair of Jinties in SDJR and LMS liveries by Jerry Clifford (Farish conversions):

Other entries included:

GWR 7806 "Cockington Manor" by Andy Carlson (Ixion body with detailing + Nigel Ashton chassis kit):

Dapol 14xx by Julia Adams with modified Chris Higgs chassis and scratchbuilt replacement boiler and smokebox:


John Barker Trophy (rolling stock)

The winner was this trio of GWR coaches by John Aldrick

Other entries included:

A GWR Collett C77 third by John Aldrick:

An ex-LNWR W9 dining car by John Aldrick:

An exceptional load (Flat ET and Girdwag WE) by David Smith (two photos to fit it all in!)

A collection of GWR pre-grouping wagons by Jerry Clifford (two photos)

Eight "assorted vans" by David Eveleigh (two photos)

Steve Sykes Award for pre-grouping prototypes

The winner was Ian Smith for this trio of GWR cattle wagons

Other entries included:

An assortment of Midland and SDJR wagons by Jerry Clifford:

On the forecourt - 3 horse-drawn vehicles by Nigel Ashton:

Willis Cup

The winner was David Eveleigh for the following four tools to help wagon body building:

Other entries included:

A rivet press made by Julia Adams from modified parallel pliers

Malcolm Stone Award

The winner was Ian Smith for a GWR station building based on Bovey Tracey in Devon

Other entries included:

Freshwater station building by Ian Morgan

An Essex cottage from the village of Steeple, by David Eveleigh:


Members Choice Cup

A trio of GNR 8 and 12 wheeled coaches by David Eveleigh

Chairman's Award

The Schooner Freya V was built by John Birkett-Smith, starting out originally from a 1:180 scale plastic kit for the Cutty Sark

Other Awards

Mike Bryant Cup

Awarded to Pete Townsend and Ian Collins for their services as Membership Secretaries

Geoff Jones Layout Trophy

Awarded to the Kent & Essex Area Group for their layout Lighterman's Yard

Geoff Balfour Memorial Award

Awarded to Alan Whitehouse for staging "Finescale in 48 hours" at the Railex show and writing it up in MRJ (the layout is now Hallam Town).